Search loading...


Explore and Make use of Nationally Defined Messaging APIs


Get Connected

How to get connected to the e-Referral APIs in a few simple steps

Prerequisites for connection

To use the e-RS Integration APIs you must:

  1. Use a secure Health and Social Care Network (HSCN) Connection (or an N3 connection until migration to HSCN)
  2. Have an NHS smartcard with valid e-RS role for the data you are requesting or submitting
  3. Be issued with a unique Endpoint (and specific test data for use in development environments)

How to get connected

To get connected to the e-RS API Development environment you will need the following:

  • A connection to the Health and Social Care Network (HSCN) - the secure NHS network (if you do not have a connection or are experiencing problems connecting, contact your network provider)
  • Access to test data (email:
  • NHS Smartcards - if you do not have a valid smartcard for development please email:
  • To register the messaging product using a Manufacturer, product and version (MPV) form if required
  • To register your message handling service with the Spine by requesting an endpoint (an authorised connection to Spine) to be created unless you have an endpoint administrator in your organisation who can do this for you - please complete the endpoint admin access request form (epr) to manage your own endpoints
  • To register your Fully Qualified Domain Name (FQDN) with the NHS DNS team
  • The Identity Agent Client software

More detailed guidance of the connection process can be found here. In all correspondence with NHS Digital please make it clear you are trying to connect to the e-RS APIs in the development environment (DEV1).

Development URLs

Once connected you can access the following NHS e-Referral Service (e-RS) URLs for development and testing.

Further assistance

For further assistance with the connection process please contact Alternatively, for assistance relating specifically to the e-RS APIs and their functionality please contact

All content is available under the Open Government Licence v3.0, except where otherwise stated