Search loading...


Explore and Make use of Nationally Defined Messaging APIs


Compliance Approach

Compliance approach for the e-Referral APIs


The overall NHS Digital approach to compliance is based on the Supplier Conformance Assessment List (SCAL) and the End User Online Declaration (EUOD), together these documents allow suppliers and end user organisations to self-certify that their products and solutions are compliant with appropriate NHS standards, specific e-RS compliance requirements and are clinically safe and fit for purpose.

Supplier Conformance Assessment List (SCAL)

The Supplier Conformance Assessment List (SCAL) is a technical document which details the supplier approach to information governance, clinical safety, functional testing and e-Referrals requirements. This document will be provided to you by NHS Digital and guidance on how to complete the SCAL is detailed in the document itself.

The latest version of the SCAL should be obtained from

If a supplier has not worked with NHS Digital before, there is also a requirement for them to register to use the NHS Digital National Service Desk ( to log incidents.

Submitting the SCAL

Once the document has been completed, it should be submitted by email to who will review it and issue a Technical Conformance Certificate.

Once a technical conformance certificate has been issued, it should be embedded into the SCAL document and submitted by email to

Connection Agreement

In order to connect to the live service APIs a connection agreement must be signed by the owner of the connecting system. This should be obtained from, signed and returned by email.

End User Online Declaration (EUOD)

The End User Online Declaration (EUOD) comprises questions about the organisation that is completing the Declaration and also statements around conformance to NHS Digital requirements.

Further guidance on completing the EUOD can be found here.

Special Terms

The NHS e-Referral API Special Terms are applicable to all supplier and provider partners and should be read in conjunction with the End User Policy and Connection Agreement above.

All content is available under the Open Government Licence v3.0, except where otherwise stated